Anne Dares: Inspired by Anne of Green Gables by George, Kallie

Anne Dares: Inspired by Anne of Green Gables

Sale price$12.99
Sold out
The fifth book in an early chapter book series inspired by Anne of Green Gables, starring the spirited Anne Shirley as she agrees to a dangerous dare and learns a valuable lesson about courage.

Anne is excited to be a guest at a party at Orchard Slope, the home of her kindred spirit, Diana Barry. But when the dares start and mean Josie Pye makes the others feel bad, Anne can't stop herself from challenging Josie to a dare . . . which leads to Anne being dared to climb the house and walk along the ridgepole! Anne's dangerous dare ends in injury . . . and teaches her an important lesson. But Anne must pluck up her courage again when she is chosen to recite at a Christmas concert! How can Anne perform in front of so many people? And what is shy Matthew Cuthbert hiding from the family?

Lovingly adapted by Kallie George with beautiful nostalgic illustrations by Abigail Halpin, this series is perfect for fans of Anne, new and old.

Author: Kallie George
Publisher: Tundra Books (NY)
Published: 10/17/2023
Pages: 72
Binding Type: Hardcover
Series: Anne Chapter Book
Weight: 0.80lbs
Size: 8.66h x 6.85w x 0.55d
ISBN: 9780735272101
Audience: Ages 4-8


Review Citation(s):
School Library Journal 10/01/2023 pg. 74

About the Author
KALLIE GEORGE is an author, editor and creative writing teacher. She has written numerous books for early readers, including the first four books in the Anne chapter book series (Anne Arrives, Anne's Kindred Spirits, Anne's School Days and Anne's Tragical Tea Party), The Magical Animal Adoption Agency series, The Heartwood Hotel series and The Wings of Olympus series, as well as numerous picture books, such as Goodnight, Anne; If I Couldn't Be Anne; Merry Christmas, Anne; The Secret Fawn and The Lost Gift. Kallie currently lives in Vancouver, BC, and feels positively certain she and Anne Shirley are kindred spirits.

ABIGAIL HALPIN is an illustrator living in southern Maine, a few miles from the sea. Her illustrations are a blend of traditional and digital media, and she has illustrated many beautiful children's books including Finding Wild, Fort Building Time and Itzhak: A Boy Who Loved the Violin. Her parents gave her a copy of Anne of Green Gables for her eighth birthday, which still sits on her bookcase in her studio, and her work for the Anne chapter book series was influenced by her teen memories of Prince Edward Island as one of the most beautiful, magical spots on the planet.