I Don't Want to Be a Frog by Petty, Dev

I Don't Want to Be a Frog

Sale price$8.99
Sold out

The hit book about a willful young frog with a serious identity crisis and his heard-it-all-before father is now available in paperback. Perfect for fans of Mo Willems's Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! and Jon Klassen's I Want My Hat Back!

Frog wants to be anything but a slimy, wet frog. A cat, perhaps. Or a rabbit. An owl? But when a hungry wolf arrives--a wolf who HATES eating frogs--our hero decides that being himself isn't so bad after all. In this very silly story with a sly message, told in hilarious dialogue between a feisty young frog and his heard-it-all-before father, young readers will identify with little Frog's desire to be something different, while laughing along at his stubborn yet endearing schemes to prove himself right.

 

And look for the hilarious sequels--I Don't Want to Be Big, There's Nothing to Do!, and I Don't Want to Go to Sleep.

 

★ "First-time author Petty's dialogue between a frog father and his son makes its point about accepting one's nature with a big grin. . . . The story might create similar gratitude in the minds of readers--or it might just make them giggle."--Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW

 

"A lively look at self-acceptance."--Kirkus

 

"This amusing story ends with a laugh and a much more content frog."--School Library Journal

 

"Silliness and deadpan humor combine into a hopping good story of being happy with who you are."--Booklist

"A paean to self-acceptance wrapped in snappy dialogue and illustrated with richly colored comic paintings."--Wall Street Journal

"Petty and Boldt provide just enough predictability to hook youngest readers, then deliver a delightful twist or two to create surprise and satisfaction--for both the green hero and the many fans he'll make with this book."--Shelf Awareness

"This lighthearted exploration of identity will delight as a read aloud."--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Author: Dev Petty
Publisher: Dragonfly Books
Published: 12/11/2018
Pages: 32
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.35lbs
Size: 9.80h x 9.70w x 0.10d
ISBN: 9781984852083
Audience: 03 - 07

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 1.6
Point Value: 0.5
Interest Level: Lower Grade
Quiz #/Name: 174224 / I Don't Want to Be a Frog

About the Author
DEV PETTY is the author of many books for kids, including I Don't Want to Be a Frog, Don't Eat Bees, Don't Trust Cats, and Elmore the Christmas Moose. She lives in Berkeley, California, with her husband, daughters, dogs, a snake named Boots, and two cats.

 

MIKE BOLDT is a New York Times bestselling children's book creator who lives in Alberta, Canada, with his wife, three children, a dog, and a few cats. His books include I Don't Want to Be a Frog, Elmore the Christmas Moose, Don't Eat Bees, Don't Trust Cats, Find Fergus, Bad Dog, and the New York Times bestseller Just One Bite by Camila Alves McConaughey and Adam Mansbach.