Saving Winslow by Creech, Sharon

Saving Winslow

Sale price$9.99
Sold out

Indie Next List Pick - ALA Notable Children's Book - Texas Bluebonnet Award Winner

"A winning tale of love." --Kirkus (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Charlotte's Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.

Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie's quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.

Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings.

"This heartwarming story is sure to be a hit with fans of E. B. White's Charlotte's Web and Kate DiCamillo's Because of Winn-Dixie." --School Library Journal (starred review)

"Creech packs a tremendous amount of emotion between the lines of her understated prose. Animal lovers in particular will relish Louie's hard-won triumphs and find joy in Winslow's strength." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Woven into this narrative is a convincing portrayal of human growth and blossoming--the story is told simply but subtly, celebrating the unexpected strength of the vulnerable." --Horn Book (starred review)



Author: Sharon Creech
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: 09/03/2019
Pages: 176
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.30lbs
Size: 8.10h x 5.10w x 0.40d
ISBN: 9780062570710
Audience: Ages 9-12

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 4.2
Point Value: 2
Interest Level: Middle Grade
Quiz #/Name: 196916 / Saving Winslow

About the Author
Creech, Sharon: -

Sharon Creech has written twenty-one books for young people and is published in over twenty languages. Her books have received awards in both the U.S. and abroad, including the Newbery Medal for Walk Two Moons, the Newbery Honor for The Wanderer, and Great Britain's Carnegie Medal for Ruby Holler.

Before beginning her writing career, Sharon Creech taught English for fifteen years in England and Switzerland. She and her husband now live in Maine, "lured there by our grandchildren," Creech says.

www.sharoncreech.com