The Day the Crayons Quit by Daywalt, Drew

The Day the Crayons Quit

Sale price$17.99
Sold out
The hilarious, colorful #1 New York Times bestselling phenomenon that every kid wants! Gift a copy to someone you love today.

Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: His crayons have had enough! They quit! Blue crayon needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water. Black crayon wants to be used for more than just outlining. And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking--each believes he is the true color of the sun. What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best?

With giggle-inducing text from Drew Daywalt and bold and bright illustrations from Oliver Jeffers, The Day the Crayons Quit is the perfect gift for new parents, baby showers, back-to-school, or any time of year! Perfect for fans of Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith.

Praise for The Day the Crayons Quit:

Amazon's 2013 Best Picture Book of the Year
A Barnes & Noble Best Book of 2013
Goodreads' 2013 Best Picture Book of the Year
Winner of the E.B. White Read-Aloud Award

* "Hilarious . . . Move over, Click, Clack, Moo; we've got a new contender for the most successful picture-book strike." -BCCB, starred review

"Jeffers . . . elevates crayon drawing to remarkable heights." -Booklist

"Fresh and funny." -The Wall Street Journal

"This book will have children asking to have it read again and again." -Library Media Connection

* "This colorful title should make for an uproarious storytime." -School Library Journal, starred review

* "These memorable personalities will leave readers glancing apprehensively at their own crayon boxes." -Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Utterly original." -San Francisco Chronicle

Author: Drew Daywalt
Publisher: Philomel Books
Published: 06/27/2013
Pages: 40
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1.05lbs
Size: 10.20h x 10.20w x 0.50d
ISBN: 9780399255373
Audience: Ages 4-8

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 3.8
Point Value: 0.5
Interest Level: Lower Grade
Quiz #/Name: 159597 / Day the Crayons Quit


Award: E.B. White Read Aloud Award - Winner
Award: Beehive Awards - Nominee
Award: Black-Eyed Susan Award - Winner
Award: Capitol Choices: Noteworthy Books for Children and Teens - Recommended
Award: Keystone to Reading Book Award - Winner
Award: Greenaway Medal - Nominee
Award: Washington Children's Choice Picture Book Award - Winner
Award: Arkansas Diamond Primary Book Award - Nominee
Award: Monarch Award - Winner
Award: Bluebonnet Awards - Winner
Award: Colorado Children's Book Award - Winner
Award: Golden Archer Award - Winner
Award: Ladybug Picture Book Award - Winner
Award: North Carolina Children's Book Award - Winner
Award: Golden Sower Award - Nominee
Award: California Young Reader Medal - Nominee
Award: Flicker Tale Children's Book Award - Winner
Award: Grand Canyon Reader Award - Winner
Award: Nevada Young Readers' Award - Winner
Award: Buckeye Children's Book Award - Winner
Award: Star of the North Picture Book Award - Nominee
Award: Volunteer State Book Awards - Nominee
Award: Young Hoosier Book Award - Nominee
Award: Nutmeg Book Award - Winner
Award: South Carolina Childrens, Junior and Young Adult Book Award - Nominee
Award: Red Clover Award - Winner


Review Citation(s):
Publishers Weekly 04/15/2013
Kirkus Reviews 05/01/2013
Kirkus Bea Big Book Guide 05/15/2013 pg. 43
School Library Journal 07/01/2013 pg. 59
Booklist 07/01/2013 pg. 77
New York Times Book Review 08/25/2013 pg. 16
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 09/01/2013 - Book Of Special Distinction
Horn Book Magazine 11/01/2013 pg. 74
SLJ's Best Books 12/01/2013 pg. 31
Hornbook Guide to Children 01/01/2014 - Superior,Well Above Average
BookPage 07/01/2013

About the Author
Although Drew Daywalt grew up in a haunted house, he now lives in a Southern California home, haunted by only his wife, two kids, and German Shepherd. He is the author of the blockbuster hit The Day the Crayons Quit as well as The Day the Crayons Came Home and The Crayons' Christmas. His favorite crayon is Black.

Oliver Jeffers makes art and tells stories. From his much-loved debut, How to Catch a Star he has gone on to create a collection of award-winning and bestselling picture books, which have been translated all over the globe, including the #1 New York Times bestseller and TIME Best Book of the Year Here We Are. Oliver is from Belfast, Northern Ireland, and now lives and works in Brooklyn, New York, with his wife and young children.